Skip to main content

Ed Reed Selected for College Football Hall of Fame, Pro Football Likely Next


Ray Lewis is a near lock to go into the Pro Football Hall of Fame later this year, but he was beaten into the College Football Hall of Fame by his tag-team partner.

Former Ravens safety Ed Reed has been selected as part of the National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Football Hall of Fame Class of 2018.

He's one of 10 players and three coaches who will be part of this year's class, which will be officially inducted during a ceremony in New York City on Dec. 4. Reed is the eighth Miami player to be enshrined.

"Congratulations to Ed on a very well-deserved honor," Director of Athletics 

* *said. "As a national champion in 2001 and one of the all-time Hurricane Football greats, we are honored to have Ed represent The U in the College Football Hall of Fame."

Lewis has been on the College Football Hall of Fame ballot multiple times, but has yet to get in. It speaks to the college dominance of Reed vs. Lewis. Reed played four years at Miami. Lewis played just two seasons.

Reed was a two-time first-team All-American (2000, 2001) while lifting the Hurricanes to a national championship in 2001. Reed led the Hurricanes to four consecutive bowl victories, ending his career with a perfect 12-0 record and a national championship.

Reed's 21 career interceptions and 389 career interception return yards both stand as Miami and Big East records. He was a finalist for the 2001 Jim Thorpe Award given to the country's best defensive back (Oklahoma safety Roy Williams won). Reed was the 24th-overall pick of the 2002 NFL Draft, earned nine Pro Bowls, one Defensive Player of the Year (2004) and one Super Bowl victory.

Lewis, meanwhile, was a one-time first-team All-American (1995) and the runner-up for the Butkus Award, given to the nation's top linebacker. Lewis led the Big East twice in tackles and finished with 388 career tackles as a Hurricane. Lewis was the 26th-overall pick of the 1996 draft, went to 13 Pro Bowls, was a two-time NFL Defensive Player of the Year (2000, 2003) and won two Super Bowls.

Lewis will (almost assuredly) get into the Pro Football Hall of Fame before Reed, but the ball-hawking safety will have a strong case to be a first-ballot enshrine next year.

Reed played one more NFL season (split between the Houston Texans and New York Jets) after Lewis retired, making him eligible for Canton one year later.

Here are the members of the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame class:


  • Trevor Cobb, RB, Rice (1989-92)
  • Kerry Collins, QB, Penn State (1991-94)
  • Dave Dickenson, QB, Montana (1992-95)
  • Dana Howard, LB, Illinois (1991-94)
  • Calvin Johnson, WR, Georgia Tech (2004-06)
  • Paul Palmer, RB, Temple (1983-86)
  • Ed Reed, DB, Miami (1998-01)
  • Matt Stinchcomb, OT, Georgia (1995-98)
  • Aaron Taylor, OL, Nebraska (1994-97)
  • Charles Woodson, DB, Michigan (1995-97)


  • Frank Beamer -- Murray State, Virginia Tech
  • Mack Brown -- Appalachian State, Tulane, North Carolina, Texas
  • Mel Tjeerdsma -- Austin College, Northwest Missouri State
This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.