Skip to main content

Ed Reed Named a Finalist for Pro Football Hall of Fame


Former Ravens safety Ed Reed is one step closer to Canton.

Reed is among 15 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame's Class of 2019, which was announced Thursday.

Reed is expected to become the third Hall of Famer in franchise history, joining Jonathan Odgen and Ray Lewis. Odgen and Lewis also both went in on their first attempts.

To be elected to the Hall of Fame, a candidate must receive 80 percent of the vote from the selection committee on Feb. 2, the night that this year's class will be announced.

General Manager Ozzie Newsome drafted Reed with the 24th pick in 2002, and he immediately became a game-changing player. A nine-time Pro Bowler and a five-time selection as first-team All-Pro, Reed ranks seventh all-time in league history with 64 interceptions.

He was the league's Defensive Player of the Year in 2004 when he had a career-high nine interceptions, a total he equaled in 2008. Reed has the most interception return yards in league history (1,590) and he returned seven interceptions for touchdowns during his career, including an NFL record 107-yard interception return in 2008, and a 106-yard return in 2004.

Reed played 11 seasons with the Ravens (2002-12), winning a Super Bowl in his final season with Baltimore. He ended his career after the 2013 season, following stints with the Houston Texans and New York Jets.

The other 14 finalists are:

  • TE Tony Gonzalez
  • WR Isaac Bruce
  • RB Edgerrin James
  • S Steve Atwater
  • CB Champ Bailey
  • CB Ty Law
  • S John Lynch
  • OT Tony Boselli
  • G Steve Hutchinson
  • G Alan Faneca
  • C/G Kevin Mawae
  • DL Richard Seymour
  • Coache Don Coryell
  • Coach Tom Flores

Related Content