Skip to main content

McGahee Wins AFC Offensive Player of the Week


Running back **Willis McGahee** of the Baltimore Ravens, linebacker Derrick Johnson of the Kansas City Chiefs and kicker Nate Kaeding of the San Diego Chargers are the AFC Offensive, Defensive and Special Teams Players of the Week for games played the 17th week of the 2009 season (January 3), the NFL announced today.


  • Facing a must-win scenario to secure the Ravens a playoff spot, McGahee scored three touchdowns and rushed for a career-high 167 yards on 16 carries (10.4 average) in a 21-13 win over the Raiders.
  • His effort helped the Ravens reach the playoffs in consecutive seasons for the first time since 2000-01.
  • His 77-yard touchdown run in the second quarter tied for the second-longest run in Ravens history.
  • In 2009, McGahee totaled 14 touchdowns (12 rushing, two receiving), tying for the most in team history (Michael Jackson, 1996; Jamal Lewis, 2003).
  • In his seventh season from Miami, this is McGahee's first career Player of the Week award.

McGahee joins linebacker Brendon Ayanbadejo![](/team/roster/brendon-ayanbadejo/0e939635-1a76-4e0f-a8e4-525731af352f/ "Brendon Ayanbadejo")* *(Week 3) and cornerback **Domonique Foxworth** (Week 15) as the third Raven to earn Player of the Week honors this season..

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content