Skip to main content

Reggie White Named Ravens High School Coach Of The Year

Reggie White Named 2012 Ravens High School Coach of the Year

* *

Reggie White, head coach of the Milford Mill (Baltimore, Md.) varsity football team, has been named Ravens High School Coach of the Year for the 2012 NFL season. Presented by Toyota, this was the 16th year of the Ravens' award program.

Milford Mill, which was 5-5 in 2011, posted its first winning season in four years, finishing 11-2 during the 2012 campaign and earning an appearance in the 3A state semifinals. It marked the school's first trip to the state semifinals in eight years.

During the regular season, the Millers only defeat came against the perennially-strong Franklin Indians. In the regional championship, Milford Mill faced off with Franklin once again, and White, a 1988 Milford Mill alum, led his team to victory and a berth in the state semifinals.

Each week during the season, the Ravens honored a high school coach who made a significant impact on his athletes. Each winner was present at the Ravens vs. Broncos home game on Dec. 16 for the naming of the Ravens' High School Coach of the Year. Comcast SportsNet, the official sports network of the Baltimore Ravens, also featured a weekly segment to honor the selected coach.

Each 2012 Ravens High School Coach of the Week recipient received:

  • A $2,000 donation to the school's football program
  • An award certificate signed by Ravens head coach John Harbaugh
  • A specially-designed Coach of the Week hat

As the 2012 Ravens High School Coach of the Year, White will receive an additional $4,000 donation toward Milford Mill's football program.

The Ravens High School Coach of the Year Award has been a fixture in youth athletics since 1997. Previous recipients include: Augie Waibel of Poly (1997), Nick Arminio of Eastern Technical (1998), Pete Pompey of Edmondson-Westside (1999), Dominic Damico of McDonogh (2000), Steve Turnbaugh of Hereford (2001), Dave Eubank of Dundalk (2002), Gene Brown of South Carroll (2003), Ben Eaton of Dunbar (2004), Brad Wilson of Westminster (2005), Dante Jones of Edmondson-Westside (2006), Lawrence Smith of Dunbar (2007), Tony Shermeyer of Century (2008), Rick Conner of Linganore (2009), Damon Bomar of Forest Park (2010) and Roger Wrenn of Poly (2011).

* *

2012 Ravens High School Coach of the Week Recipients

* *

Week 1                 Kyle Schmitt                       Atholton

Week 2                 Phil Zacharias                     Mt. Hebron

Week 3                 Chad McCormick              Old Mill

Week 4                 Marc Alegi                           C. Milton Wright              

Week 5                 Dave Smith                         Francis Scott Key

Week 6                 Reggie White                     Milford Mill

Week 7                 Lawrence Smith                Dunbar

Week 8                 Blake Henry                        Mt. St. Joseph

Week 9                 Bryon Sofinowski             Kent Island Week 10              Dante Jones                       Edmondson

This article has been reproduced in a new format and may be missing content or contain faulty links. Please use the Contact Us link in our site footer to report an issue.

Related Content