Skip to main content

Joe Burrow's Heisman Trophy Win Was Biggest Longshot Since Lamar Jackson's


Lamar Jackson took college football by storm in 2016 to win the Heisman Trophy. In fact, he was the biggest longshot winner of the past decade, according to sports business reporter Darren Rovell.

That was until LSU's Joe Burrow took home the prize Saturday evening. Burrow opened the year with odds as high as 200-1.

LSU went undefeated, is the No. 1 team in the country and top seed in the college football playoffs. Burrow had an up-and-down junior season, but was on fire and LSU's unquestioned driver as a senior, throwing for 4,715 yards, 48 touchdowns and a 77.9 completion percentage.

As a sophomore in 2016, Jackson threw for 3,543 yards and 30 touchdowns, and ran for 1,571 yards and another 21 touchdowns. He is still the youngest Heisman Trophy winner in the award's history, and it's clear to see from his acceptance speech that he hasn't changed much.

Related Links

Jackson was asked Tuesday who he voted for in the Heisman race (all former winners get a vote).

"The guy who's playing lights out right now, the one who took down Alabama: Joe," Jackson said. "Joe is doing his thing. I can't lie. He's doing a tremendous job right now. I feel like they're winning the National Championship, to me."

The Ravens have three Heisman Trophy winners (and have used all three in the "Heisman Package" twice this year) with Jackson, Robert Griffin III (2011, Baylor) and Mark Ingram II (2009, Alabama). All three showed their support for Burrow Saturday night.

Burrow was actually in Baltimore recently to accept the 2019 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. He went to M&T Bank Stadium to rub the Unitas statue's toe and toured the Babe Ruth Museum, which is full of Ravens history.

It wouldn't be surprising if Burrow sees a lot more of Baltimore in the coming years with the Cincinnati Bengals currently in line for the No. 1-overall pick in the 2020 NFL Draft. If the Bengals were to take him, three former Heisman Trophy winners would be quarterbacking AFC North teams, including the Browns' Baker Mayfield (2017, Oklahoma).

Related Content